Winners of Foremost awards announced

Foremost members from around the country once again gathered at Harrogate’s Majestic Hotel for the Foremost Golf Industry Awards, hosted this year by BBC sports correspondent, Iain Carter. A hotbed of industry activity and a celebration of the group and its successful members, the Awards were attended by some of the UK golf industry’s most influential people.

Mark Rogers (in the middle of the picture) from The York Golf Club in North Yorkshire scooped the most coveted award for members, the Foremost Professional of the Year for 2015.

Commenting on Rogers’ achievement, Company Director Andy Martin said: “Mark ticks all the boxes when looking for a modern, green-grass professional. He works tirelessly to engage fully with his club and the membership, while continuing to provide a high quality retail proposition.”

Other recipients of Foremost’s members’ awards were Joel Saunders, from Verulam Golf Club in Hertfordshire, who was named as the group’s Elite Marketing Professional of the Year, and Jack Heginbotham, from Wells Golf Club in Somerset, who received the award as Breakthrough Professional of the Year. There was also a special citation for Foremost Chairman Chris Steele, from Minchinhampton Golf Club in Gloucestershire, who received the 2015 Foremost Contribution Award in recognition of his 25 years with the group.

Highlighted by Most Innovative Product of the Year, which went to Foresight Sports for their GC2 launch monitor, the Awards Dinner was also the occasion when the winners of the Foremost Supplier Awards were announced.

PING claimed the Supplier of the Year Award for an unprecedented eighth consecutive year, along with awards for Wood of the Year (PING G30) and Iron of the Year (PING G30).

Acushnet also enjoyed another successful year, claiming Apparel Range of the Year (Footjoy), Shoe Model of the Year (Footjoy Contour Series), Wedge of the Year (Titleist Vokey SM5) and Ball Model of the Year (Titleist Pro V1).

Completing the product award winners were Galvin Green who won Waterproof Model of the Year (Apex), Odyssey who won Putter Model of the Year (Works Range) and Motocaddy who won Electric Trolley of the Year (S1).

Winners of the Golf Monthly Consumer Awards:

Shot of the year – Rickie Fowler

Breakthrough performance of the year – Andy Sullivan

Golfer of the Year– Jordan Spieth

Outstanding Contribution to the Game Award – Miguel Angel Jimenez


Previous articleGolf Trade show a success
Next articleBig new changes on TGI board
A graduate of Cardiff University’s highly respected post-graduate magazine journalism course, Andy has successfully edited four different publications across the B2B, trade and consumer sectors. He is skilled at all aspects of the magazine process in addition to editing websites and managing social media channels.