R&A names St Andrews Trophy squad

The R&A has announced a 21 player Great Britain and Ireland squad for the St Andrews Trophy match at Barsebäck Golf and Country Club in Sweden on 29 and 30 August. The nine-man team to compete in the biennial match against the Continent of Europe will be named in mid-August.

Four players will bring valuable Walker Cup experience to the squad including Matthew Fitzpatrick, who recently made his Masters Tournament debut, and Rhys Pugh who played on the GB&I side in both 2011 at Royal Aberdeen and in 2013 at the National Golf Links of America in Southampton, New York. Greg Eason, currently third ranked amateur in the world and reigning European Amateur champion Ashley Chesters also add depth to the squad. Nigel Edwards will captain the team for the third time as GB&I seek to reclaim the trophy after the Continent of Europe’s narrow 12½ to 11½ victory at Portmarnock in 2012. Since 1956 GB&I have won on 24 occasions and the Continent of Europe has won five times, including the 2010 and 2012 matches.

Edwards commented, “We have announced a strong squad for this year’s match. The final selection of the team for the St Andrews Trophy match will be dependent on performances and, therefore, players who are not named in this squad have every chance of playing their way on to the team. I am confident that the team we select will mount a real challenge for the trophy in Sweden.”